Archive and Search
« Winger, Dukakis and 'Mouth to Mouth' | Main | SSMF Announces 'Motley Memory' Contest »

Unreleased Ronnie James Dio Tunes Coming with 'And Before Elf…There Were Elves'

More good news for Ronnie James Dio fans! A rarities package is due in October that will give us some unreleased Elf tracks. The album will also feature a 3D cover (there's that 3D trend again)! I'm pretty excited about this. I'm usually not big on rarities packages, but this seems truly worthwhile -- this is all new content to us and therefore not some random cash grab. Here's the details:

Over the years, legendary singer Ronnie James Dio fronted some of the most popular/enduring hard rock/heavy metal bands of all-time, including Rainbow, Black Sabbath/Heaven & Hell, and Dio.

But before all of these bands, there was Elf. Described as a "Rock/Honky Tonk/Blues band," a forthcoming release, 'And Before Elf…There Were Elves,' will prove that Ronnie could easily handle other rock-related styles.

Released on October 11th via the Niji Entertainment Group, 'And Before Elf' will feature twelve previously unreleased tracks (all from 1971), comprised of both live in the studio and live on stage tracks.

The album will feature a striking Lenticular/3D/Hologram cover, that when you turn it, you will see two alternating images – Ronnie from the first Elf LP, as well as a vintage group shot from 1971. And although these recordings are 40 years old, the sonic quality still passes the test, as longtime Dio engineer Wyn Davis remastered the original tapes.

Formed in 1967 in Cortland, New York, The Elves also featured other members that would carve a niche for themselves in the hard rock world!

Guitarist David "Rock" Feinstein (Dio's cousin) would go on to front the Rods. Elf would last for a trio of albums, before Ronnie exited the group in 1975, to co-form Rainbow with ex-Deep Purple guitarist Ritchie Blackmore.

Ronnie James Dio always had the golden touch as a masterful singer and frontman.

And upon hearing 'And Before Elf…There Were Elves,' you'll discover he possessed his one-of-a-kind voice from the very beginning of his career.

 "And Before Elf…There Were Elves" Track Listing:

1. You Shook Me
2. Stay With Me
3. Four Day Creep
4. Buckingham Blues
5. Wakeup Sunshine
6. Driftin'
7. Smile For Me Lady
8. You Felt The Same Way
9. Simple Man
10. Drown Me In The River
11. Cold Ramona
12. Little Queenie

Reader Comments (2)

While these tracks won't be new to serious ROIO collectors, it will be nice to hear them after a proper remastering job.
July 20, 2011 | Unregistered CommenterBob
The line: "And Before Elf…There Were Elves" made smile. I's amazing how people think about these things.
January 2, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterHeelys Shoes

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.