Archive and Search




New Music Sunday: Junkyard

Junkyard is one of those straight up rock bands that no one talks about much. They sort of percolate in the background and when they release a new track or album, the music just kind of hits you. Now the band has a video for their song "Cut From the Same Cloth." It's from the album High Water. This isn't the sleazy Junkyard of days past - it's more heavy I guess you could say. Happy Sunday everyone.


Avenged Sevenfold Covers Pink Floyd

For both fans of Avenged Sevenfold and Pink Floyd, this is interesting: here's a cover of A7X doing "Wish You Were Here" - I have to say, I like it a lot.


2018 Rock Hall Nominee Class Announced

Here you go: the 2018 nominee class for the Rock n' Roll Hall of Fame. This list will be winnowed down to the final actual nominees. You can vote for your favorite now! My choices, of course, are Rage Against The Machine, Bon Jovi and Judas Priest.

Here's the full list of nominees:

  • Bon Jovi
  • Kate Bush
  • The Cars
  • Depeche Mode
  • Dire Straits
  • Eurythmics
  • J. Geils Band
  • Judas Priest
  • LL Cool J
  • MC5
  • The Meters
  • Moody Blues
  • Radiohead
  • Rage Against the Machine
  • Rufus featuring Chaka Khan
  • Nina Simone
  • Sister Rosetta Tharpe
  • Link Wray
  • The Zombies


In Honor of Tom Petty

Remember Vains of Jenna? They were a great glam band from Sweden. While they disbanded a few years ago, they left us a couple albums full of really sleazy music. I saw them live a couple of times and they were just fun. Well, going through the archives, here's a video of Vains of Jenna doing a cover of Tom Petty's "Refugee." Brings back great memories of VoJ and Tom for me.


Europe, 'Walk The Earth' - New Video

Europe has released a video for the title track of their upcoming album Walk The Earth. It comes out October 20. Europe has consistently released new music and I'm looking forward to this album too. This band just keeps getting better and better - that isn't something I say lightly. I'm really glad for this new music!


Statement On Passing Of Tom Petty

Tom Petty died last night. He suffered a major cardiac arrest and was on life support. He died at the age of 66 surrounded by family, friends and his bandmates. Here is the official statement:


Tom Petty On Life Support

Tom Petty is on life support after suffering a massive cardiac arrest at his home last night. Earlier news reports said Petty had passed. Petty is 66 years old. Here's hoping for a miracle on a really dark news day.